Strategic Board (SB)


The Strategic Board takes overall responsibility for the performance of the project. It approves major strategic decisions and policies impacting the project and the broader Alliance. The Executive Board (EB) assist by keeping the Strategic Board informed and by bringing reports, analysis, recommendations and any risks, issues or conflicts unresolved to the Board, taking advice from the External Advisory Board as appropriate.


The Strategic Board consist of 6 Rectors, 1 student representative and the Secretary-General. The SB each year elect from among the Rectors a Chair (rotating Chair). The Secretary-General provides the Secretariat support for the SB, assisted by the Project Manager. The SB meets twice each year, once which may be virtual and once to coincide with the date for the Annual General Conference. The SB Chair will also each year address the Annual General Conference.


Executive Board (EB)


The Executive Board (EB) is the main operational Board. It is responsible for the overall management of the project, the achievement of the objectives and delivery of the outputs and outcomes, in line with contractual, financial, legal and compliance obligations and requirements. It will ensure that there is effective leadership, management and coordination of all activities.

The EB is chaired by the Secretary-General. The Project Manager provides the Secretariat support for the EB. EB meet quarterly; up to 3 meetings may be virtual. All EB members attend the Annual General Meeting. The EB receives and considers quarterly reports and analyses from all Work Packages (including from appropriate sub-work packages, and proper outputs and outcomes from the Commissions and the Student Forum).


Strategic Board

Caroline Pauwels, Rector of the Vrije Universiteit Brussel

François Germinet, President of CY Cergy Paris Université

Eva Wiberg, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Gothenburg

Igor Papič, Rector of the University of Ljubljana, Chair

Jaume Casals, Rector of the Pompeu Fabra University, Barcelona

Stuart Croft, Vice-Chancellor and President of the University of Warwick 

Nikki Mukkle, Secretary General

EUTOPIA's Presidents and Students Representatives
Kick-Off Meeting at Ljubljiana, January 2020

Student Representatives

Marie Marchand – President – CY

Karl Kilbo – Vice-President – GOT

Luke Mepham – Vice-President – Warwick

Carmen Mazijn – PhD – VUB

Fatimzhara Belaidi Zine – VUB

Ferran Piqué – UPF

Laura Koudela – UL

Belgium, Vrije Universiteit Brussel
Carmen Mazijn – PhD 
Fatimzhara Belaidi Zine

France, CY Cergy Paris Université
Marie Marchand

Sweden, Göteborgs Universitet
Karl Kilbo

Slovenia, Univerza v Ljubljani
Laura Koudela

Spain, Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Ferran Piqué i Anguera

United Kingdom, University of Warwick
Luke Mepham