Strategic Board (SB)

The Strategic Board takes overall responsibility for the performance of the project. It approves major strategic decisions and policies impacting the project and the broader Alliance. The Executive Board (EB) assists by keeping the Strategic Board informed and by bringing reports, analysis, recommendations, and any risks, issues, or conflicts unresolved to the Board, taking advice from the External Advisory Board as appropriate.

The Strategic Board consists of 10 Rectors, 1 student representative, and the Secretary-General. The SB each year elect from among the Rectors a Chair (rotating Chair). The Secretary-General provides the Secretariat support for the SB, assisted by the Project Manager. The SB meets twice each year, once which may be virtual and once to coincide with the date for the Annual General Conference. The SB Chair will also each year address the Annual General Conference.

Members of the Srategic Board

  • Daniel David, Rector of the Babes-Bolyai University
  • Caroline Pauwels, Rector of the Vrije Universiteit Brussel
  • Tiziana Lippiello, Rector of the Ca'Foscari University of Venice
  • François Germinet, President of CY Cergy Paris Université, Deputy Chair
  • Eva Wiberg, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Gothenburg, Chair
  • Gregor Majdič, Rector of the University of Ljubljana
  • João Sàágua, Rector of the NOVA University Lisbon
  • Oriol Amat, Rector of the Pompeu Fabra University-Barcelona
  • Ursula M. Staudinger, Rector of the Technische Universität Dresden
  • Stuart Croft, Vice-Chancellor and President of the University of Warwick
  • Nikki Muckle, Secretary-General

Executive Board

The Executive Board (EB) is the main operational Board. It is responsible for the overall management of the project, the achievement of the objectives, and delivery of the outputs and outcomes, in line with contractual, financial, legal, and compliance obligations and requirements. It will ensure that there is effective leadership, management, and coordination of all activities.

The EB is chaired by the Secretary-General. The Project Manager provides the Secretariat support for the EB. EB meets quarterly; up to 3 meetings may be virtual. All EB members attend the Annual General Meeting. The EB receives and considers quarterly reports and analyses from all Work Packages (including from appropriate sub-work packages, and proper outputs and outcomes from the Commissions and the Student Forum).

Student Representatives

  • Marie Marchand – President – CY  Cergy Paris University
  • Karl Kilbo – Vice-President – University of Gothenburg
  • Luke Mepham – Vice-President – University of Warwick
  • Carmen Mazijn – PhD – Vrije Universiteit Brussel
  • Fatimzhara Belaidi Zine – Vrije Universiteit Brussel
  • Bernat Payà Mayó – Universitat Pompeu Fabra
  • Laura Koudela – University of Ljubljana

Student Council

As a student-centered and student-empowering alliance, EUTOPIA employs a structural process to gather the continued input of  its students. The EUTOPIA Student Council forms an integral part of this process. The EUTOPIA Student Council consists of 1 student per university, elected according to local regulations and traditions, and 1 PhD student active in one of the joint EUTOPIA PhD programmes. These 7 students bring the student perspective to EUTOPIA’s activities, most notably through representation in the EUTOPIA Strategic Board (the EUTOPIA Student Council President), in the EUTOPIA Executive Board (EUTOPIA’s Student Council 2 Vice-Presidents), and the EUTOPIA Educational Board (constituting half of the voting members).